Wednesday, December 17, 2008

SNL.

i'm not much of a tv-watcher. i used to be a so-called 'tv junkie' in high school, but i've gotten over the habit - i pretty much am down to my thursday night office-watching.

one show that i've always had the hardest time letting go of, however, is saturday night live. anyone remember the glory days of will ferrell/ana gasteyer/molly shannon/chris kattan? gah, how i miss those days. as they fizzled out, SNL rebounded with the likes of jimmy fallon/tina fey/maya rudolph - also greats.

let's talk about the current state of SNL. ouch. it's been a rough couple years. the skits are horrible, i don't remember the last time that i've watched a full episode. weekend update has been crap-on-a-stick ever since TF/JF left the show. garbage.

until this season. granted most of the skits have sucked, the political commentaries were hilarious. the vice-pres impersonators were glorious. tina fey was born to play sarah palin. i almost voted for mccain/palin until i heard that tina would not be coming back to SNL even if they were victorious.

someone who deserves their own paragraph in my blog would be kristen wiig. i've been watching SNL for about ten years, and no woman even compares to the hilarity (is that a word?) this woman brings to the table. she's ridiculously versatile and i can guarantee you my 5 favorite characters are played by her. [judy grimes being #1]. seriously luv her.

okay, let's get on last week's episode. i watched it on tivo today in its entirety. hugh laurie (of house fame i believe..) was hosting, and let's just say he wasn't the funny part. it was amy poehler's last episode (and let's just say, it's about time - she's had her run), and it was phenomenal. maya rudolph came back to do 'bronx beat' (one of my favs) and it was phenom. i won't go into detail about the whole episode but it was great. [minus kanye west, you're really not as cool as you think you are, ya gold digger.]. weekend update was hilarious..the 'really' sketch had me rolling - "$50 worth of circus tickets". [i really hope JD saw it.]

christmas is a season for hope. and i have that hope for SNL. give it a chance. all i want for christmas is kristen wiig to make sweet jokes to me all night long please.

continuing on the 'SNL' note - i cannot WAIT for jimmy fallon's new late night talk show. conan + jimmy fallon - could my weeknights get any better? i'm definitely not a leno fan - call me a cynic but i don't laugh at people who can't write their own jokes. in case you'd like a taste of the upcoming glory, check out jimmy's vid blogs: http://www.latenightwithjimmyfallon.com/

[p.s. jimmy fallon and i are now facebook friends - HOLLA. and shutup, it's actually him.]

merry christmas - please go watch last week's sketches on the website. unfortunately they have not posted the new bronx beat, but here's the link to an older one: grrrrrreat.

tough tacos.

No comments: